Bloc Party will headline next years NME Awards Tour

Bloc Party will headline next years NME Awards Tour

- in Gig News
Bloc Party

The new Bloc Party line-up will headline the 2016 NME Awards Tour, which begins in Cardiff on 29 January.

Joining Bloc Party on the bill will be Drenge, Ratboy and Bugzy Malone.

The annual tour NME Awards Tour kicks off in Cardiff on 29 January, and will visit Southampton, Bristol, Nottingham, Newcastle, Glasgow, Manchester, Leeds, Cambridge and London before a final gig Birmingham’s O2 Academy on 12 February.

Bloc Party will release their new album HYMNS on 29 January – the first album with new bassist Justin Harris and drummer Louise Bartle, who have replaced Gordon Moakes and Matt Tong.

Bloc Party frontman Kele Okoreke said:

It was a big deal for the band when we played the NME tour in 2005, so we’re really excited to be returning as headliners in 2016.

It’s a great line-up and I’m really looking forward to seeing the other bands, I can’t wait to get out there.

Hard-rocking brothers Drenge will be second on the bill, with up-and-comers Ratboy and grime MC Bugzy Malone completing the bill.

NME Awards Tour 2016 dates

29 – Cardiff, Great Hall
30 – Southampton, O2 Guildhall

01 – Bristol, O2 Academy
02 – Nottingham, Rock City
04 – Newcastle, O2 Academy
05 – Glasgow, Barrowland
06 – Manchester, Academy
08 – Leeds, O2 Academy
09 – Cambridge, Corn Exchange
11 – London, O2 Academy Brixton
12 – Birmingham, O2 Academy

Tickets will be available via a special presale on Wednesday 4 November at 9am – see the NME tickets site for more info.

General sale tickets will be available on Friday 6 November at 9am.

Facebook Comments

You may also like